How to De-Stress in 10 easy steps

Have you had a bad day/week at work? Kids are driving you mad? Unpaid bills are piling up?
It’s never easy being stressed and it certainly isn’t easy trying to DE-stress when you have no idea how. So I’m going to give you my 10 easy steps on how to DE-stress. These steps help me, so hopefully, they will help you!

Step 1: Get out your journal and write down everything that’s stressing you out.
I know you’ve probably been told numerous of times that writing down everything that’s on your mind helps, and I 100% agree with that. I started writing in a journal when I was 17 years old. It helped me relax my mind when things got hard at school and to this day, I still write everything down when I’m on the verge of a breakdown, or better yet, a murderous spree (You can’t deny that you haven’t thought about lashing out on those who have pissed you off)
It doesn’t have to be a novel on your stress troubles, just take the words that you know you can’t say aloud and write them in your journal. It honestly helps.
If you don’t want to write, maybe just draw. It can be scribbles, an actual drawing, anything. This is your journal and what you put in it, doesn’t concern others.
Seriously, get yourself a journal.

Step 2: Once you have lashed out in your journal, look around you and whatever needs cleaning, clean it.
There’s nothing better than a clean house. And I think I can say for many people, a clean environment really helps relax the mind.
You’ve been meaning to clean your cupboard out for a long time? Take the time to go through it when you’re stressed. Throw out those old, frayed, unicorn shorts that you’ve hidden in the back of your cupboard. Those shoes you love so much but your dog chewed holes in them? Throw them in the bin.
Take the time to give your house a thorough clean and I promise your mood will transform.

Step 3: Get fresh air.
After all that cleaning, you will need fresh air. Put on your walking shoes and go for a nice stroll. Take your camera and capture pretty pictures. Go down to the lake and sit by the water. Go to your favourite cafe. Just get out of your house and enjoy the day and your surroundings. Getting fresh air is one of the best things to do when you’re stressed out.
Go grab your walking shoes and enjoy this gorgeous day.

Step 4: Run yourself a bath, light a nice smelling candle and grab your favourite book.
There is no rule in how early during the day you can have a bath. Honestly, whoever says you can’t have a nice relaxing bath at 1:00pm, probably doesn’t have a bath and is jealous.
After you have been for your walk, there’s nothing better than climbing into a nice, warm bath and reading your favourite book. This step is my favourite. It relaxes my mind so much and once I’m done in there, I feel all snugly and warm, my stress has been forgotten. (For now, at least)
Spend as much time as you want in there. Just relax.

Step 5: Make yourself some nice warm soup. Food, is always great for stress.
Sometimes. You don’t want to over eat when you’re stressed otherwise you will stress yourself out more because you have put on 5 kilo.
No, make yourself a nice, healthy, warm soup. Pumpkin soup is my favourite stress food. It warms me up and literally brings me comfort when I’m having a stressful day. If it’s a beautiful day/night, take your soup out onto the balcony/patio and enjoy the peaceful sounds of nature.

Step 6: Curl up on the couch with your pet and watch your favourite movie.
Whether it’s on Netflix or DVD, watching your favourite movie is always great when you’re under stress. It takes your mind off everything that’s bothering you and you can just lose yourself in the movie, wishing it was you kissing Channing Tatum. And let’s not forget that curling up with your pet is amazing as well. My cat always makes me feel better after a stressful day. And she loves laying on me when I’m watching a movie, so it’s a win-win situation.

Step 7: Make yourself a cup of tea.
What’s not good about tea? My personal favourite is Green Tea & Lemon. It always brightens my mood when I have a cup.
Put on the kettle, and make yourself a cup of your favorite tea.
If you’re not a tea drinker, a hot chocolate or coffee does wonders as well.

Step 8: Write down a list of things to achieve this week.
Doing this helps me keep organized, stress-free and happy. Simply because, I have already planned my week, I know what needs to be done and what needs to be paid by and I achieve everything I want to achieve. It doesn’t have to be about the bills or food shopping. If you want to attend the gym 4 days this week, make that an achievement to accomplish that week.

Step 9: Get into your most comfortable pj’s, light a candle in your room, grab a book and get into bed.
So you’ve spent the day DE-stressing yourself, now it’s time to wind down before bedtime.
You know those really ugly pj’s you love so much? Put them on. It’ll make you feel good.
Light your favourite scented candle, grab a book (Reading is always the best DE-stressing remedy) and hop into bed. Turn your mind off and lose yourself in a world far away from where you are.

Step 10: Sleep.
Lastly, go to sleep. Early if possible. Try and get at least 8 hours and your body and mind will be refreshed for the next day. Sleep is so important, and so many young people take it for granted. Close your eyes and forget about your worries til tomorrow.

These are the 10 steps I do when I am feeling stressed. You don’t have to do them in order and you don’t have to do every one of them.
I’m not saying this will help everyone, but if it helps at least one person, then I’m happy to share my way of DE-stressing myself.
There are millions of other ways you can DE-stress, but from my experience, these steps help me the best.

I hope you liked reading this post and if you give these steps a go, let me know if they helped you in the comments below!

Until next time –

Love,

cropped-emily-rose-xo.jpg

FOLLOW ME ON:

Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Wattpad
Snapchat:
emily.r0see

28 thoughts on “How to De-Stress in 10 easy steps

  1. tia says says:

    I completely agree with this! Reading and writing helps me to DE – stress too. They’re so great for distractions and they really help to get things out of your mind. Lovely post! πŸ™‚ xx

    Liked by 2 people

  2. mdrailsback says:

    We are the same person when it comes to de-stressing! Thanks for sharing this with us. I’m bookmarking this post so I can give myself a little reminder to de-stress every once in a while! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Sparkyjen says:

    I try to stay as far away from stress as I can. The stress hormone cortisol is not our friend. As a friendly reminder, I did enjoy reading all your steps. #5 is my favorite, because I love soup. I could eat it all the time. I love the warmth of it going down. In my opinion, it’s a “comfort food,” and dare say even better than a bowl of ice cream; definitely less caloric, much more healthy.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. leftterry says:

    I’m new to this blogging scene and have no idea what I’m doing but I will plod on. I stumbled across you by searching diary (I’m lame). Love it and will definitely be giving you a follow.

    LT. x

    Like

Leave a Reply

